Ryu Ha - Overview


The "Ryu Ha" of the Amatsu Tatara arts represent the traditional techniques from ancient family schools that developed over centuries. Based on different sections of the numerous Dragon & Tiger scrolls, each historical lineage or "ryu" has a particular teaching focus or "ha". These differences stem from a myriad of contributing factors ranging from the occupation and background of the ryu ha's founder to the geographical region in which the ryu ha was developed.


Over 2000 years, only the strongest and most effective schools survived to this day. Understanding this, it is easy to appreciate the significance of an unbroken line lasting 58 generations. Even our younger ryu ha started more than 500 years ago, but many progressive teaching refinements have constantly been made. The original kata have always been and will always be the same. The "refinements" in how the art is taught must adapt with the times.

Ryu Ha - Soke's masterships

Martial Arts Organizations:

    • Genbukan World Ninpo Bugei Federation - President
    • Kokusai Jujutsu Renmei Federation - President
    • Nihon Kobudo World Federation - President

Mastered Ryu-Ha / Schools:
    • Hontai Yoshin Takagi Ryu Jujutsu - 18th Soke
    • Hontai Kukishin Ryu Bojutsu - 18th Soke
    • Gikan Ryu Koppo-Jutsu - 14th Soke
    • Asayama Ichiden Ryu Taijutsu - 18th Soke
    • Tenshin Hyoho Kukishin-Ryu - 18th Soke
    • Amatsu Tatara Bumon & Shumon - 58th Soke
    • Shinden Tatara Ryu Taijutsu - 55th Soke
    • Shinden Kito Ryu Bojutsu - 55th Soke
    • Bokuden Ryu Jujutsu - 15th Soke
    • Itten Ryushin Chukai Ryu Jujutsu - 3rd Soke
    • Chinese Martial Art Hakkesho - 5th Denjin
    • Araki Shin Ryu - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Yagyu Shingan Kacchu Yawara - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Tenshin Koryu / Shindo Tenshin Ryu Kenpo - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Kijin Chosui Ryu Daken-Taijutsu - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Daito Ryu Aiki Jujutsu Yamamoto-Ha - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Mugen Shinto Ryu Iai-Jutsu - Menkyo Kaiden
    • Shinden Fudo Ryu Daken-Taijutsu Tanemura-Ha - Soke
    • Shinden Fudo Ryu Taijutsu Tanemura-Ha - Soke
    • Kukishinden Happo Biken-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha - Soke
    • Togakure Ryu Ninpo Tanemura-Ha - Soke
    • Gyokko Ryu Kosshi-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha - Soke
    • Koto Ryu Koppo-Jutsu Tanemura-Ha - Soke

Trained / Studied Schools:
    • Iga Ryu Ninpo
    • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo
    • Gyokushin Ryu Koppo-jutsu
    • Tenjin Shinyo Ryu Ju-jutsu
    • Yoshin Ryu Ju-jutsu
    • Onoha Itto Ryu Ken-jutsu
    • Shindo Munen Ryu Ken-jutsu
    • Taiwado Ju-jutsu
    • Shindo Muso Ryu Jo-jutsu
    • Kageyama Ryu Ken-jutsu
    • Kito Ryu Ju-jutsu
    • Shin Kage Ryu
    • Shikomizue Jutsu
    • Takeda Ryu Aiki-no-jutsu
    • Kendo
    • Judo
    • Karate
    • Aikido
    • Taikyoku-Ken
    • Kei-i-Ken
    • India Martial Arts

Ryu Ha - Qualifications

In the Genbukan and KJJR, members who have attained 3rd dan are allowed to study these traditional schools as they were originally taught. Some exceptions are made for members who wish only to train in the traditional arts but the study must be approved directly by Grandmaster Tanemura. Generally, the member must display adequate skill and dedication by attaining 1st dan in Genbukan Ninpo or KJJR Jujutsu.

For more information in English language go to www.genbukan.org


10000 Zagreb, Sokolgradska 28
OIB: 52569597190

Copyright © 2008-2023 • Grandmaster Tanemura Tsunehisa Shoto Sensei & Mangetsu Dojo, Croatia